Day 8: A Haiku

“These broken hands have
given me life, strength and a
bond transcending time.”

Since it’s Mother’s Day, I wanted to write a poem reflecting the simplicity in the way my mom loves. Moving to a new country, she bared her soul to a foreign land, where strangers were no longer considered aunts and uncles… brothers and sisters. My dad worked long hours at the factory, so most days she was alone taking care of my sister and I. Although it was lonely, and her heart ached for the magic of her homeland, she sacrificed everything in the hopes of paving a better future for us. I’m grateful everyday for this loud, charismatic woman who encourages and loves and inspires. For all the pain and sacrifices. I love you mama – this day’s for you.

Leave a Reply

