Unfunny Funny Things Said By Me

Despite making myself laugh-cry constantly, I’ve come to accept the fact that I’m quite unfunny in the real world. According to a reliable source (i.e. a pal of mine) the only time I’m actually funny is when I’m not trying at all. And then I’m just downright hilarious. So I decided to compile a list of all the times my comedic genius was deemed unfunny.


1. Day one of my first ever paid co-op. 
The entire department was gathered that day to welcome new recruits and re-group after the new year to discuss things we were happy and grateful for. When my turn came I thought it would be funny to announce to the room, “I’m just grateful I haven’t been fired yet!” Nobody laughed.

2. Grade 12 
I asked a perfectly legitimate question about the relationship between serial killers and their nervous systems. Apparently this query was hilarious. My teacher never answered and I was left to ponder this on my own time.

3. A group of people are having a heated conversation as I sit on the sidelines.
A window of opportunity jumps out in front of me, I make a quick witted comment and begin laughing in this breathless, hysterical type of way I can never control. At this point, everyone usually gets a little quiet and surprised before tentatively returning to the conversation. This could be anywhere, anytime – from childhood drives in the car, to present day, sitting on the edge of my sister’s bed.

4. Puns
Puns are my absolute favourite kind of joke because they’re funny without hurting anyone. Puns are just pure nuggets of joy. There are times, however, when I go a little overboard and my best friend has to set me straight. This girl’s sense of humour stems from the same tree as me. The tree that told us that combining ice cream, a microphone and a gym full of people is comedy gold (don’t ask). So when she tells me a pun isn’t funny, it has to be true.

5. Everyone on The List App.
If you love lists as much as I do, you NEED to download this app! It’s home to some of the nicest creatives on the internet, and almost everyone seems to be a Mindy Kaling fan, so +10 bonus points. Again, nobody finds me funny on there (I’m up to 2 followers, woohoooo), but it’s worth it to be surrounded by all of these k00l k@tz. If you’re interested in joining, you can find me @soymilk – we’ll be the best of list buddies!

All in all, if you’re like me and can barely make a baby smile, don’t worry. Most likely our humour is just ahead of the times. Way ahead.

Until next time,

Rosyblush

 

 

16 thoughts on “Unfunny Funny Things Said By Me

    1. rosyblush says:

      Ahhh I love that you love puns as much as I do! Maybe one day the punniness will rub off on your co-workers too lol! And yes…it’s truly a dilemma. Babies are a tough audience ;( Hope you’re having a great Monday, Allison!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Chia says:

    Hooraay! I am kinda not alone! (Hi 5!) Trying to be funny is a real struggle for me too! I also noticed that people laughs whenever I I am not trying to be funny. It’s as if the joke is on me. :/
    One example: WHENEVER I hold a microphone and tries to sing, for some reason I don’t want to accept everyone would start laughing. And I haven’t yet started singing so I don’t know what’s funny (definitely not my voice) hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. rosyblush says:

      Awww Chia! I’m sure it’s because you’re just so adorable they can’t help but giggle when they see you getting ready to sing (; Don’t worry though, I totally understand the struggle!! Maybe if we all unite in the comments section, there will be a shift in the comedic stratosphere, where the unfunny become the funny lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen says:

    Heheh you are too funny. Co op? Does that mean you go to U**W ? I’m doing something similar but with a permanent workplace next year! Puns are the best, I like how you called them little nuggets of joy because I feel strongly about that too. The List App sounds fun, I will follow you if I ever download it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. rosyblush says:

      Haha thanks Karen! And indeed I did attend UW, but only briefly – hope everything goes well with the work placement 😀 ALSO you definitely should! I changed my username to @coconut ^_^ Hope you’re having a wonderful Christmas day!!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

